Spotless appoints new CEO

Spotless names new CEO as takeover deadline is extended once again.

Spotless chief operating officer Dana Nelson has been appointed CEO and managing director of the cleaning, catering and facilities managing group, effective immediately.

Nelson’s appointment follows the resignation of former CEO and managing director Martin Sheppard after two years in the role.

Nelson has been the chief operating officer of Spotless since July 2015. Before joining Spotless, Nelson was the managing director of Australia and New Zealand for Delaware North.

Spotless chairman Garry Hounsell said: “Dana has had substantial experience in managing operations at Spotless over the past seven years. She has strong relationships with Spotless’ customer base, management team and people. Spotless will continue to benefit from her depth of expertise and experience. We look forward to Dana’s continued leadership as Spotless’ chief executive officer.”

In announcing Nelson’s appointment Spotless said Sheppard had “elected to pursue other opportunities following the recent Downer takeover”.

Hounsell thanked Sheppard and paid tribute to his efforts: “Martin has made an outstanding contribution to Spotless, providing great leadership through what has been a challenging period for the Company and he leaves the Company extremely well positioned for growth going forward.”

Downer extends takeover deadline

Nelson’s appointment comes as Downer extended its $1.2 billion takeover deadline until 28 August.

Last month Spotless reluctantly advised shareholders to accept Downer’s offer of $1.15 cash per share, despite months of urging shareholders to reject the bid.

Downer, which has secured more than 85 per cent shareholding of Spotless, also has majority representation on the board.

The company nominated nominated four directors to join the Spotless board last month, being two of its non-executive directors, Philip Garling and Grant Throne, its chief financial officer Michael Ferguson and a former Downer non-executive director, John Humphrey.

Three current non-executive directors of Spotless, Diane Grady, Nick Sherry and Julie Coates, have decided to retire from the Spotless board.

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required